Make your own free website on

The Temples of Tamilnadu

Navagraha Temples of Chennai
Non Divya Desam Sthalams
Vishnu Sthalams
Navagraha Temples of Chennai
Navagraha Sthalams
Nava Thirupathi Divya Desams
Naalaayira Divya Prabhandham.

Navagraha Temples of Chennai

Navagraha Temples of Chennai


There are 9 temples at the outskirts of Chennai dedicated to the Navagrahams. Similar to Kumbakonam, our ancestors have built temples for all 9 planets in the then Thondai Mandalam.

All these temples are built with the purpose that in those days traveling all the way to Kumbakonam from this part of the country was highly tedious.

All of them belong to the Chozha period with brilliant architecture and divinity. Few of these temples are in the state of neglect where others still look fresh and new even after centuries.

The main deities of all these temples are Lord Shiva in different names. In few places the main deity, Lord Shiva Himself, represent the planet and so there is no separate shrine for the respective Graham in the temple.

Here is a collective view of all 9 Navagraha temples in Chennai, which I thought would be easy for people to view/read and get to know more information of these temples.

If planned well, one can visit all these temples in a day itself, as most of them lie on the same route (from Porur to Somangalam) except the one at Poondhamalli.

I present to you here in my Website, all of the 9 Navagraha Temples in Chennai.
All these temples are of historical importance and recently Tamilnadu Tourism has started operating package trip to these Chennai Navagraha temples.

Kolappaakkam Sri Agatheeswarar(Surya Sthalam)

The Temples of Tamilnadu

            Exploring the Rich Temple Heritage of Tamil Nadu